Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Best Raid Configuration
Author Message
bobwu1 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 29
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #1
Best Raid Configuration
Hey everyone, I need your expertise on this.

I got 2 60gb corsair SSD recently and I want to use them as a boot drive. The problem is that 60gb seemed too small for my C:\ drive (which is around 40gb). I was wondering if it's possible/feasible to "stick" the 2 SSD's together (act like a 120gb ssd) using some sort of raid configuration and still retain data if 1 of them fails. Which raid configuration is the best for this and how do you do this.

I'm thinking of spanning (through disk manager) the boot drive to form a 120gb partition and using another partition from another drive to mirror the boot drive for data redundancy. Is this possible?

Gaming HTPC
MSI 770-G45
PHENOM II 905E
2TB SAMSUNG F4E
1.5TB WD GREEN
2x60GB CORSAIR FORCE
ASUS XONAR D1
HAF912 case
GIGABYTE 6870 OC
ASUS 23.6" LED
LOGITECH G110/X-518
SAMSUNG Blu-Ray
16GB RAM
OCZ Z1000M

Wishlist
AMD Piledriver/Intel Ivy Bridge CPU
EYEFINITY monitors
06-09-2011 07:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #2
RE: Best Raid Configuration
Raid 0 is the raid you want Smile

You can use your motherboard's onboard RAID controller to do this! Refer to your manual, every board is different, you will have to press a key combination during boot to access the controller and set up the array.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
06-09-2011 07:42 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bobwu1 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 29
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #3
RE: Best Raid Configuration
But isn't raid0 really unreliable? Like if 1 of my disk fails I'm screwed?
Also, what's the difference between raid0 and striped dynamic volume (W7 disk manager)?

Gaming HTPC
MSI 770-G45
PHENOM II 905E
2TB SAMSUNG F4E
1.5TB WD GREEN
2x60GB CORSAIR FORCE
ASUS XONAR D1
HAF912 case
GIGABYTE 6870 OC
ASUS 23.6" LED
LOGITECH G110/X-518
SAMSUNG Blu-Ray
16GB RAM
OCZ Z1000M

Wishlist
AMD Piledriver/Intel Ivy Bridge CPU
EYEFINITY monitors
06-09-2011 08:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #4
RE: Best Raid Configuration
(06-09-2011 08:04 PM)bobwu1 Wrote:  But isn't raid0 really unreliable? Like if 1 of my disk fails I'm screwed?

Yes, that is what a good backup is for though. I run a raid 0 with hard drives and it is great, but I keep backups of my important data and store it on other drives. The speed benefits outweigh any reliability concerns though for a home user's computer, and with a single drive you risk drive death anyways.

(06-09-2011 08:04 PM)bobwu1 Wrote:  Also, what's the difference between raid0 and striped dynamic volume (W7 disk manager)?

Raid 0 splits writes and reads between drives which allows for increase IO (input output). The "Windows version" (also known as software raid) is just one that Windows would manage instead of your motherboard, except you cannot use it for a boot drive. Do not use the Windows one, just use whatever your motherboard's raid controller will allow you to.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
(This post was last modified: 06-09-2011 08:15 PM by Defiant.)
06-09-2011 08:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bobwu1 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 29
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #5
RE: Best Raid Configuration
But doesn't raid0 kill SSD's faster?
A lot of people who have SSD's die on them have been using raid...
I just want larger space for my SSD.

Also, I only have 30 days warranty on my SSD since they are refurbished...

Gaming HTPC
MSI 770-G45
PHENOM II 905E
2TB SAMSUNG F4E
1.5TB WD GREEN
2x60GB CORSAIR FORCE
ASUS XONAR D1
HAF912 case
GIGABYTE 6870 OC
ASUS 23.6" LED
LOGITECH G110/X-518
SAMSUNG Blu-Ray
16GB RAM
OCZ Z1000M

Wishlist
AMD Piledriver/Intel Ivy Bridge CPU
EYEFINITY monitors
06-09-2011 09:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gomerpile Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 333
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 1 thanks in 1 posts
 
Post: #6
RE: Best Raid Configuration
[Image: raid.jpg]
For gaming raid stripe, which is, as said, raid 0, is the best. Avoid mirroing its not ment for gaming.
Or raid for ants works too
hope this helped
(This post was last modified: 06-09-2011 09:49 PM by gomerpile.)
06-09-2011 09:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #7
RE: Best Raid Configuration
Mirroring RAID is really hard on SSDs since they have limited writes before they degrade. Striping is fine IME though.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
06-09-2011 10:02 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bobwu1 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 29
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #8
RE: Best Raid Configuration
I'm not sure how to do raid on my motherboard. My manual did not come with any instructions on raid.
How big is the difference between software raid and hardware raid?
Since I just need the space instead of speed, would a spanning volume work better?

Just wondering, will it affect performance if I mirror on a HDD and raid 2 SSD's?
I'm guessing the SSD's will be bottlenecked by the HDD?

Gaming HTPC
MSI 770-G45
PHENOM II 905E
2TB SAMSUNG F4E
1.5TB WD GREEN
2x60GB CORSAIR FORCE
ASUS XONAR D1
HAF912 case
GIGABYTE 6870 OC
ASUS 23.6" LED
LOGITECH G110/X-518
SAMSUNG Blu-Ray
16GB RAM
OCZ Z1000M

Wishlist
AMD Piledriver/Intel Ivy Bridge CPU
EYEFINITY monitors
(This post was last modified: 06-09-2011 10:26 PM by bobwu1.)
06-09-2011 10:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #9
RE: Best Raid Configuration
RAID0 pretty much just 'joins' the disk. There is no redundancy. Ive never actually tried putting HDDs and SSDs in a raid to comment on that.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
06-09-2011 10:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #10
RE: Best Raid Configuration
(06-09-2011 10:23 PM)bobwu1 Wrote:  I'm not sure how to do raid on my motherboard. My manual did not come with any instructions on raid.
How big is the difference between software raid and hardware raid?
Since I just need the space instead of speed, would a spanning volume work better?

Just wondering, will it affect performance if I mirror on a HDD and raid 2 SSD's?
I'm guessing the SSD's will be bottlenecked by the HDD?

A quick Google on your motherboard (from your signatire) shows it is raid 0 capable. I also found the manual located here:

http://www.msi.com/product/mb/770-G45.html#?div=Manual

You cannot do weird raid configs with an HDD and a SSD. Just raid 0 the 2 SSDs together for increased speed and space. In raid we only want to use exact same drives together, using different ones will start to mess things up and result in lost capacity.

Keep a backup of any important data, as with any setup, drive death can happen in a single drive setup too.

The difference between software raid and hardware raid is that software raid is either run by windows itself or the motherboard controller which still relies on the processor to offload calculations to, hardware raid has a dedicated processor to deal with calculations and is faster for enterprise setups such as raid 5 and 6. Use your onboard raid controller, this is the best option for you.

(06-09-2011 10:02 PM)Peter M Dodge Wrote:  Mirroring RAID is really hard on SSDs since they have limited writes before they degrade. Striping is fine IME though.

This is untrue, Solid State Drives in a raid array receive the same amount of writes in a raid 1 configuration as they would in stand alone single drive applications. A raid configuration makes no difference to the drive as the motherboard controller is usually the only "entity" aware of the raid, the drive is just writing 0s and 1s as it is told to. More expensive drives such as the WD RE series are designed for raid, but are still unaware of it.

Windows will also be unaware of the raid as the motherboard controller will simply make it appear as one large volume.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
(This post was last modified: 06-10-2011 06:35 AM by Defiant.)
06-10-2011 06:27 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply