Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Steam
Author Message
jhayman Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 251
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 7 thanks in 6 posts
 
Post: #1
Steam
Hello all..Need to pick your collective brains..
I just reformatted my SSD..
I installed Steam on it, but have all my games on another HD..
How can I get Steam to look at that HD so I don't have to redownload all the games again?
There has to be a way..

Sandy 2600/ Corsair H70/ASUS P8P67 Pro MB/2 Sapphire 6950 2G in Crossfire/16G Kingston HyperX 1600MHz/120G SP V30 SSD/Corsair Obsidian 650D Case/5x 2TB Black WD's/ 24" SAMSUNG 245T LCD/Corsair TX750W/Windows 7 64BIT/Creative X-FI HD Titanium /Logitech G700 Mouse/Razer Black Widow
(This post was last modified: 03-02-2011 10:18 AM by jhayman.)
03-02-2011 10:18 AM
Find all posts by this user
Mystryman Offline
INTERNATIONAL MAN OF MYSTRY
*****

Posts: 4,349
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 42
Thanks: 454
Given 267 thanks in 236 posts
     
Post: #2
RE: Steam
I would try the Steam forums.

http://store.steampowered.com/forums/

ALL HAIL DISTWROUGHT!
BASED DISTWROUGHT
PRAISE, DISTWROUGHT SUPREME LEADER

#DISTWROUGHTLYFE
03-02-2011 10:40 AM
Find all posts by this user
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #3
RE: Steam
(03-02-2011 10:18 AM)jhayman Wrote:  Hello all..Need to pick your collective brains..
I just reformatted my SSD..
I installed Steam on it, but have all my games on another HD..
How can I get Steam to look at that HD so I don't have to redownload all the games again?
There has to be a way..

Steams gets all its game files from the "steamapps" folder which is located inside its install folder in program files. The only way to change this location is to change where Steam is installed. This can be done during the installation at this screen:

[Image: steam_install.png]

From there you simply select somewhere on the other drive and install it there and then cut and paste all games from the Steamapps folder to the new one on the same drive.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
03-02-2011 10:58 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #4
RE: Steam
The short version: Move the /Steam/Steamapps/ directory to the new location.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
03-02-2011 11:49 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #5
RE: Steam
(03-02-2011 11:49 AM)Peter M Dodge Wrote:  The short version: Move the /Steam/Steamapps/ directory to the new location.

No. That is the short "f everything up" version.

Simply moving this directory will break the program and all the games in it. You have to do a fresh install due to the registry keys and other files, everything is keyed to its location upon install. Once the new install is finished the entire "steamapps" directory in the new location can be overwritten with the old one, then you simply start up Steam and let it "verify" everything (it will look like downloading but it isn't).

Peter if you have nothing to add, just don't post.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
03-02-2011 12:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #6
RE: Steam
Dude, I've programmed for Steamworks apps before. There's nothing in the registry for the games. The important stuff is in the .gcf files that are in the root of the /steamapps/ folder.

[edit]: Its .ncf pardon.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-02-2011 12:12 PM by Peter M Dodge.)
03-02-2011 12:08 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
David Offline
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 1,202
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 7
Thanks: 9
Given 59 thanks in 49 posts
 
Post: #7
RE: Steam
You two play nice.

The other Dave
Current Rig:

NZXT H440
MSI GTX 1080 X 8G
I7 6700K
MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16
Cooler Master Hyper 212 evo V2
Samsung Evo 128 SSD
Adata 240 SSD
WD 2TB Blue
03-02-2011 12:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #8
RE: Steam
(03-02-2011 12:08 PM)Peter M Dodge Wrote:  Dude, I've programmed for Steamworks apps before. There's nothing in the registry. The important stuff is in the .gcf files that are in the root of the /steamapps/ folder.

Then don't make pointless suggestions if you truly have done that. Steam is a program like any other, you cannot just "copy paste" its entire directory and expect it to function correctly. There is a method to backing up games (manual copy or using the backup tool) and restoring them (copying back or using the restore tool).

You have no idea what Steam games he has either. I understand that the particular software you worked on may not have had registry keys, but think about third party games sold on Steam (anything EA comes to mind) that would use registry keys or any other files linking back to its default directory.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
03-02-2011 12:16 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #9
RE: Steam
Anything which has its .ncf intact should be able to regenerate its registry keys if it follows the standards suggested in the Steamworks SDK. The only applications which may have problems with this are those with 3rd-Party DRM software, as their information is not stored in the .ncf digest.

The only application I know of which does have 3rd-Party DRM, is Dead Rising 2.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
03-02-2011 12:22 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #10
RE: Steam
(03-02-2011 12:22 PM)Peter M Dodge Wrote:  The only application I know of which does have 3rd-Party DRM, is Dead Rising 2.

Along with any EA game. Which is why he needs to do a fresh install of Steam and redirect the "Steam" folder to his other drive and cut everything into it. This is the only method that won't cause random errors or broken games, I've seen Steam break too many times before.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
(This post was last modified: 03-02-2011 12:30 PM by Defiant.)
03-02-2011 12:29 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed