Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Hard Drive] Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
Author Message
heyyahblah Offline
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 1,506
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 39
Thanks: 485
Given 327 thanks in 252 posts
 
Post: #1
Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
Hey guys,

Just thought I would throw out a quick review on the following SSD.
[Image: 2ugnm9g.jpg]
Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB 7mm SATA 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (SSD), Read: 450MB/s Write: 450MB/s (SV300S37A/240G)
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=055641

So I had a failing 320GB 2.5" 5400rpm drive in a laptop. Older machine from 2009, Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, SATA II 3Gb/s.

To start I would say the physical install went smooth, glad they included this little plastic bracket. The drive is super thin at only 7mm so it wouldn't fit properly on its own into the laptop HDD caddy case. So they have this little plastic thingy (not sure how to explain it) that has a removable tape on either side and you press this plastic holder onto the SSD and it sticks on making the drive thicker. It makes the SSD as thick as a standard 2.5" HDD drive because this 7mm SSD is thinner then a regular 2.5" drive so take note of this.

Once I mounted the plastic onto the SSD it fit perfectly into the laptop HDD caddy. Installed it in the computer, screws and all matched, perfect. Booted to BIOS and drive showed up and was recognized. Installed Windows 7 and boom, fast and smooth and good to go SSD.

Now since the laptop has a SATA II 3Gb/s port I cannot comment to the max theoretical speeds of the SSD of 450/450MB/s read/write. However I can say that this drive is backwards compatible with SATA II (as I have tested it) so we know it should work fine in older SATA II motherboards. It does state its not compatible with SATA I, but I'm sure no one is using hardware that old with an SSD drive.

Anyways so I did some research and they said the max theoretical speeds I should be able to achieve on SATA II 3Gb/s should be around 270MB/s for write and 285MB/s for reading according what the interwebs says. So I ran two different types benchmarking software and got two different results. Not sure which program is more accurate or not, but if anyone can comment as to say I am getting the max performance of the drive on the SATA II port? I am not sure myself. I got two different readings. Here they are ...

ATTO Disk Benchmark v2.47
[Image: 34gtuld.png]

AS SSD Benchmark v1.7 (German/English)
[Image: 2ly35le.png]
Not so sure why the second program gives much lower results. If anyone could comment that would be great.


[Image: 14ebh4i.png]

Finally last but not least I installed the Kingstong SSD Toolbox software, because I figured hey why not. It's probably like the Samsung Magician Software that I had on the 840EVO that lets you monitor the drive status, health, etc. Well so far unlike the Samsung Magician software, the Kingston gives you basic information, health status, things like that. It won't let you upgrade firmware if the drive is in use. You have to boot from another drive in order to update the firmware (downside).

Also, for some reason this damn software keeps on opening up to full screen on every boot of the computer. It doesn't run minimized to task-bar like the Magician software by Samsung. It always runs full screen and you have to close the damn thing which gives you a stupid message box "this software will continue to run in the background" ... seriously? I cannot find it in Windows Startup folder, nor does MSCONFIG show it in the startup routines so I have no idea how the hell this program boots up. I was hoping I could turn the auto start-up to off and just run the program manually when needed, but it's not even in the startup folder nor is it in the MSCONFIG startup, ridiculous.

I cannot find anything on Google or forums about this, so this means I am going to have to uninstall the hardware monitoring software and then reinstall it at a later date if they do ever fix this problem or if I want to check the status of my SSD drive, which is so stupid. I wish I could leave the program installed and let it run in the background minimized or at least turn off auto startup and just run it when needed. No information from Kingston about this ... so I'm dropping 1 point for that.

[Image: foj60w.png]

[Image: 2md06rk.png]

Lastly the other loss in point is storage size. When I thought I was buying the 240GB, I believed I was getting a 240GB drive. You know a 256GB minus the overhead = 240GB something like that. I wasn't expecting to get only 223GB from a 240GB drive. Hey, 17GB is 17GB when dropping down from 320GB drive. So I was a little disappointed about that.

Otherwise I believe the performance and the drive is OK, its doing what it needs to do, be fast and reliable is all I want. That sums it up.

Windows 7 settings: TRIM (enabled), Hibernate (disabled), Disk Defrag (disabled), System Protection/Restore (3%) or 6.70GB.

Overall I would rate this SSD 8/10

-1 for poor software that I cant minimize or disable auto startup.
-1 for not being a full 240GB drive.

/end rant & review

Update: 5/5/2015

Just spoke with Kingston customer support. They didn't seem to be quite interested in my question but confirmed with me that the Kingston SSD Software is meant to open up like that at every Windows boot. I mentioned to them that its very annoying and other manufacturers of SSD drives have better software (like Samsung) that have their software run in the background, minimized at every Windows boot and not have it open Window that needs to be closed manually.

The chat rep seemed 'annoyed' but said she would pass the message along to her dev team so hopefully in a next version or two of the software they will change it so it runs minimized in the background. For now, if this bothers you, just don't install the Kingston Toolbox software to avoid the problem.

[Image: 2ed154g.png]
(This post was last modified: 05-05-2015 04:47 PM by heyyahblah.)
05-04-2015 08:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: devious1 , Bungwirez , Mahloot
Bungwirez Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 16
Thanks: 84
Given 85 thanks in 68 posts
 
Post: #2
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
Good stuff Johnny. I almost got this drive... but the EVO Pro was just a little better deal Tongue

[Image: BungzCCsig.png]
05-05-2015 05:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: heyyahblah
heyyahblah Offline
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 1,506
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 39
Thanks: 485
Given 327 thanks in 252 posts
 
Post: #3
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
Yea Bungz, the drive is not bad. I don't have a SATA III 6Gb/s port to test it on, if I did I would like to see the results. Other then the software being bad the drive seems alright.

But yes, I am like you I prefer the SAMSUNG SSD right now as KING over the other SSD's. The 840EVO just got a firmware update for April '15 for anyone that was experiencing loss of performance over time on the drive so thats a +1 from SAMSUNG for keeping their drives up to date/par. The 840EVO is great and no complaints here.

I have my eye's set on the 850EVO now as the next SSD for me, but I have to wait until it goes on sale again at CC. They had 1TB for $500 and that's the size I want. Unfortunately the 850PRO 1TB is $700 and that's too rich for me, and I want a 1TB SSD as a primary C: drive Big Grin ... so I'm willing to spend the .50c per GB. Hopefully all drives will be SSD norm real soon Smile

[Image: 2ed154g.png]
05-05-2015 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,661
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 60
Given 603 thanks in 465 posts
       
Post: #4
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
(05-05-2015 03:04 PM)heyyahblah Wrote:  and I want a 1TB SSD as a primary C: drive Big Grin ... so I'm willing to spend the .50c per GB.

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=081474


http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=075500

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
05-05-2015 07:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: heyyahblah
heyyahblah Offline
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 1,506
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 39
Thanks: 485
Given 327 thanks in 252 posts
 
Post: #5
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
Thanks for the links Defiant but this is the one I want.
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=080112

CC had it on sale for $499 and they all sold out like hot cakes, now its back up to $569. I'm just going to wait to see if it goes on sale again and grab one.

Or if I see an 840EVO 1TB for $450 or less I'll get one of those it's fine with me. I'll just have to keep an eye out. Especially since they just updated the firmware last month on the drive to make it more reliable.

[Image: 2ed154g.png]
(This post was last modified: 05-05-2015 08:49 PM by heyyahblah.)
05-05-2015 08:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mahloot Offline
Forum Member
CC Staffs

Posts: 544
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 7
Thanks: 252
Given 119 thanks in 103 posts
 
Post: #6
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
(05-04-2015 08:39 PM)heyyahblah Wrote:  -1 for not being a full 240GB drive.
Excellent review, thank you!

It is a full 240GB drive though, Windows just displays it in GiB instead of GB, though it doesn't tell you that. This always leads to confusion. This is one aspect of Windows that I absolutely despise. Rest assured there are no GBs missing from the drive!

240GB = 223.517GiB

Now for the math:
1GB = 1000MB
1GiB = 1024MB

240GB * 1000 * 1000 * 1000 = 240,000,000,000 Bytes
240,000,000,000 Bytes / (1024*1024*1024) = 223.517GiB

223.517GB (or rather technically, GiB) is what Windows will report to you.

An easy way to do this, just search "xxxGB to GiB" in Google, it'll do the math for you, and check that the GiB result matches what you see in Windows. If it does, the drive is as advertised, there is no problem.

[Image: 2MwoJHE.png]

Very unfortunate that Microsoft still is reluctant to adjust this in Windows. Apple already patched Mac OS some time ago to report GB instead of GiB to stop all this confusion. If you were to plug that drive into an Apple device, it would correctly report 240GB instead of the 223.517GB you are seeing in Windows.

My thoughts, views, and opinions do not reflect that of Canada Computers and are solely my own.

My rig:
Intel Core i7-4790k
Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Patriot Viper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1866MHz
Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
120GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD (OS)
1TB Seagate Desktop (Games)
2TB WD Green (Storage)
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2015 02:41 AM by Mahloot.)
05-06-2015 02:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: Bungwirez , heyyahblah
Bungwirez Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 16
Thanks: 84
Given 85 thanks in 68 posts
 
Post: #7
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
hey! good lessons sir. thanks Smile

[Image: BungzCCsig.png]
05-06-2015 03:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mahloot Offline
Forum Member
CC Staffs

Posts: 544
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 7
Thanks: 252
Given 119 thanks in 103 posts
 
Post: #8
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
No problem Bungz. The above post explains the math. Now very quickly, I'll explain why Windows uses the notation "GB" instead of "GiB". It's simply due to standards overlap.

1 metric gigabyte = 1000 MB. It's notation is "GB" This is what Apple and drive manufacturers use
1 JEDEC gigabyte = 1024 MB. It's notation is "GB" This is what Windows and RAM manufacturers use
1 IEC gibibyte = 1024 MB. It's notation is "GiB". Same as a JEDEC gigabyte and commonly used in Linux

If Microsoft doesn't want to fold in to the metric standard like Apple has already done to match with the drive manufacturers, the least they could do is use the "GiB" notation to make the difference more apparent. I've seen many Linux distributions report drives in "GiB" so it leaves no room for interpretation error.

Of course if you really want to screw around with someone, tell them you have a 223 Gibibyte drive Smile

My thoughts, views, and opinions do not reflect that of Canada Computers and are solely my own.

My rig:
Intel Core i7-4790k
Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Patriot Viper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1866MHz
Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
120GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD (OS)
1TB Seagate Desktop (Games)
2TB WD Green (Storage)
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2015 04:23 AM by Mahloot.)
05-06-2015 03:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Bungwirez Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 16
Thanks: 84
Given 85 thanks in 68 posts
 
Post: #9
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
you just made me an even bigger nerd Tongue

[Image: BungzCCsig.png]
05-06-2015 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mahloot Offline
Forum Member
CC Staffs

Posts: 544
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 7
Thanks: 252
Given 119 thanks in 103 posts
 
Post: #10
RE: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD 450MB/s
(05-05-2015 03:04 PM)heyyahblah Wrote:  The 840EVO just got a firmware update for April '15

Whoa thanks! Samsung magician on my PC is failing to report that there's a firmware update available. It's also failing to see that there's a update from Magician 4.5 to Magician 4.6.

Now I have to go a fix this Tongue
And fixed. I just had to manually install Magician 4.6. As soon as I did that, Magician saw I had a firmware update available which I completed.

Anyone noticed the new "Advanced" tab under Performance Optimization in Magician 4.6? I have to leave for work now but I will play around with this when I get home tonight.

My thoughts, views, and opinions do not reflect that of Canada Computers and are solely my own.

My rig:
Intel Core i7-4790k
Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Patriot Viper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1866MHz
Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
120GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD (OS)
1TB Seagate Desktop (Games)
2TB WD Green (Storage)
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2015 12:36 PM by Mahloot.)
05-06-2015 12:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply