Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Reasonable Video Cards
Author Message
MusicianEric Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #1
Reasonable Video Cards
Hello, my name is Eric.

I am interested in finding a good video card for my computer that is under $150.

I am looking one that will work well with games.

Here are my computer specs:
  • System Manufacturer: Acer
  • System Model: Aspire M5630
  • OS Name: Windows 7 Ultimate 64x (Was originally a Windows Vista Home Premium 32x)
  • Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 MHz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM): 2.00 GB

And some other Specs:
  • Name: Intel® G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
  • Chip Type: Intel® GMA 3100
  • DAC Type: Internal
  • Approx. Total Memory: 256 MB
  • Current Display Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)

I found a few Video Card that interests me:

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=037784

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=043142
01-05-2012 02:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #2
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
The processor is definetely going to become a bottleneck in that system, especially if you upgrade to a discrete video card..

[Image: currentbuild.png]
01-05-2012 02:49 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MusicianEric Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #3
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
What do you mean by bottleneck?

Do you mean it's going to be good or bad?
01-05-2012 02:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Peter M Dodge Offline
Posts Dominator
*****

Posts: 5,010
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 29
Thanks: 12
Given 138 thanks in 127 posts
     
Post: #4
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
I mean that is quite an old processor, and if you're looking to play demanding newer games, the processor may not be able to keep up. You can get a 580 or something in the system... the performance will be limited by the older processor ... hence ... bottleneck.

[Image: currentbuild.png]
01-05-2012 02:56 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
neiltb Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #5
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
for $150 he aint getting no 580.

A GTX 550 http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_i..._id=037784 (the one you saw, oops)

would be a good start imo, yes you're not going to get the newest to run at silly res but if you're realistic you'll be fine.

asus m2n-sli, AMD AthlonII X4 640, Mushkin silverline 4*2GB,Galaxy GTX 660ti 3GB
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 03:18 PM by neiltb.)
01-05-2012 03:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #6
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
When it comes to OEM PCs, upgrading/adding video cards is tricky due to space limitations and the power supply wattage/connectors.

For your Acer Aspire M5630 you have either a 250 or a 300 watt PSU and the ability to have a PCI-E GPU.

The problem is your power supply, I have no idea if it will have a PCI-Express 6 pin power connector which is this:

[Image: trio659.jpg]

You will need this if you intend to use that GTX 550. Another problem is I doubt that 250/300 watt will even be able to safely supply enough power for the system with that GPU (running a power supply near maximum is a bad idea, especially a generic OEM one like that), so you would probably need a new power supply too...
(01-05-2012 02:49 PM)Peter M Dodge Wrote:  The processor is definetely going to become a bottleneck in that system, especially if you upgrade to a discrete video card..

The Q6600 won't be a bottleneck for the GTX 550, once you start getting into higher end cards such as the GTX 460 and the GTX 560 is when the Q6600 needs to be overclocked to keep up. Above that in GTX 570 and higher territory it simply cannot keep up.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 03:39 PM by Defiant.)
01-05-2012 03:35 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: sprogis
heyyahblah Offline
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 1,513
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 39
Thanks: 488
Given 330 thanks in 255 posts
 
Post: #7
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
Yea hes gotta swap the PSU in the machine in order to install that video card, should fit in the ACER case but PSU is definitely an issue.

My neighbour bought a core i5 monster from Costco about 3-4 months ago full works package and the POS tower only has a 250w PSU, it was ridiculous. I couldn't believe it when I saw it.

[Image: 2ed154g.png]
01-05-2012 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ichiro Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 557
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 17
Given 4 thanks in 4 posts
 
Post: #8
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
I'm pretty sure that generic ~300W PSU's don't come with external power for GPU's, especially stock-branded builds.

The Q6600 used to be quite good in the old days. The 550 Ti will do you just fine. Hell, I'm using it myself right now. No problems.

Used it on both the Q8200 (POS) and this i7-2600k. The only game it's really had an issue with so far is like, Serious Sam 3, but that game's having issues for just about anybody, regardless of how good their GPU's are. Extremely high requirements for whatever the hell reason.
01-05-2012 03:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MusicianEric Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thanks in 0 posts
 
Post: #9
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
I just bought the Radeon HD6670 and I'm about to put that into my computer and see if it works.
01-05-2012 03:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ichiro Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 557
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Thanks: 17
Given 4 thanks in 4 posts
 
Post: #10
RE: Reasonable Video Cards
Any video card upgrade will basically work, but the problem is, if the HD 6670 needs external power for the fan (provided by a cable from the power supply in your computer), you probably shouldn't use it for too long, or it'll overheat.
01-05-2012 03:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply