Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Recording
Author Message
Eddyall1 Offline
Posts Leader
*****

Posts: 2,838
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 6
Thanks: 6
Given 96 thanks in 94 posts
 
Post: #1
Recording
Anyone knows by any chance a free good recording software that work in games and on the desktop?
11-09-2011 04:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #2
RE: Recording
(11-09-2011 04:20 PM)Eddyall1 Wrote:  Anyone knows by any chance a free good recording software that work in games and on the desktop?

Fraps

/Thread

EDIT: I don't think it will work on the desktop, but for in game recording its the best.

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
(This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 04:38 PM by Defiant.)
11-09-2011 04:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Odin Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,331
Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks: 1
Given 23 thanks in 20 posts
 
Post: #3
RE: Recording
Fraps indeed.

/thread
11-09-2011 04:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lebungz Offline
Posts Leader
*****

Posts: 3,792
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 65
Thanks: 408
Given 413 thanks in 344 posts
     
Post: #4
RE: Recording
I'll see your Fraps and raise you another.

C70 MODS
932-X MODS
TAKE MY MONEY RIMMERS!
11-09-2011 06:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Eddyall1 Offline
Posts Leader
*****

Posts: 2,838
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 6
Thanks: 6
Given 96 thanks in 94 posts
 
Post: #5
RE: Recording
Last time I try it, it had a free limited version for 30 sec movies and recorded in fact clips of 2 seconds randomly but that's probably because I used my Pentium IV and GeForce 6200. And yes, according to what they say on there front page, you can do it with "games using DirectX or OpenGL graphic technology" so not every games nor the desktop. HyperCam work for me on the desktop but not in game. (again probably because of my PC)

Requires DirectX 9.0c or DirectX 10 (no 11 or just not up to date?)
Requires Administrator rights
Supports all modern CPUs
(Pentium 3 and above) (I think it not up to date based on this line)
Captures fastest with an NVIDIA GeForce or ATI Radeon graphics card
(This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 06:45 PM by Eddyall1.)
11-09-2011 06:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Defiant Offline
Posting Leader
*****

Posts: 4,674
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 64
Thanks: 63
Given 613 thanks in 474 posts
       
Post: #6
RE: Recording
(11-09-2011 06:44 PM)Eddyall1 Wrote:  And yes, according to what they say on there front page, you can do it with "games using DirectX or OpenGL graphic technology" so not every games nor the desktop. HyperCam work for me on the desktop but not in game. (again probably because of my PC)

So use a combination of Fraps and Hypercam then?

What games are you playing that wouldn't be supported exactly...?

Rigs:
Defiant (Gamer)
Intrepid (HTPC)
Galaxy (Server)
11-09-2011 07:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mystryman Offline
INTERNATIONAL MAN OF MYSTRY
*****

Posts: 4,349
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 42
Thanks: 454
Given 267 thanks in 236 posts
     
Post: #7
RE: Recording
use the *free* Fraps.

ALL HAIL DISTWROUGHT!
BASED DISTWROUGHT
PRAISE, DISTWROUGHT SUPREME LEADER

#DISTWROUGHTLYFE
11-09-2011 08:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Eddyall1 Offline
Posts Leader
*****

Posts: 2,838
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 6
Thanks: 6
Given 96 thanks in 94 posts
 
Post: #8
RE: Recording
(11-09-2011 07:07 PM)Defiant Wrote:  So use a combination of Fraps and Hypercam then?

Probably going to do that if fraps works.

(11-09-2011 07:07 PM)Defiant Wrote:  What games are you playing that wouldn't be supported exactly...?

On my very short steam game list, 5 out of 13 of them are sub DirectX 5.0 (They are the only steam games my computer can play at the moment however)
(This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 08:08 PM by Eddyall1.)
11-09-2011 08:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Steven S Offline
Forum Helper
*****

Posts: 1,069
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 10
Thanks: 8
Given 84 thanks in 70 posts
 
Post: #9
RE: Recording
camtasia is a fairly decent choice for recording desktop... at least, i think it's called camtasia. it's been a while since i used it. it apparently works for starcraft as well.

Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z 1600Mhz
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty Professional
MSI HD 7970 Lightning @ 1125/1600 MHz
Crucial M4 256GB SSD
3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200.12 HDDs (RAID0)
Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB HDD
Silverstone Fortress FT02
11-09-2011 10:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Eddyall1 Offline
Posts Leader
*****

Posts: 2,838
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 6
Thanks: 6
Given 96 thanks in 94 posts
 
Post: #10
RE: Recording
I try to record Star Wars Dark Force and it didn't work.
But I couldn't make Fraps work correctly on the desktops too.
Steam plus Fraps plus Vista on a Pentium IV don't work. (Fraps said 6 FPS but it was more like 1/6 FPS)
11-11-2011 07:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply